7155-04. Cooperation between the VBA (Volta Basin Authority) and the NCEA

The Volta Basin Authority (Autorité du bassin de la Volta, ABV) is a supranational entity responsible for ensuring « international cooperation for the rational and sustainable management of the water resources of the Volta Basin and for the socioeconomic integration of its member states” (according to ABV Convention). The ABV continuously seeks to finance and develop infrastructure related to Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) and transboundary projects. On a broader level, it aims to contribute to poverty alleviation and the sustainable development of the basin. To this end it has adopted a strategic plan for 2014-2024.

Détails significatifs

In March 2020, the NCEA and the ABV discussed potential cooperation on the field of Environmental Assessment, which is an essential element of infrastructure development.

Two avenues of collaboration were identified:

  1. Independent advice of NCEA on individual ESIAs and SEAs. The quality assurance provided by the NCEA will help the ABV develop its capacity in terms of impact assessment, reassure the population in the Basin about the impacts of projects, and reassure potential donors.
  2. Capacity development. The ABV is still developing its mandate and capacities on ESIA. They have recently adopted the new water charter and are in the process of recruiting an environmentalist who will work on this theme. It is currently too early to determine what specific aspects of the EA-system require most attention: The NCEA and ABV will jointly define the specific topics for capacity development the coming months (perhaps even conduct a ESYMAP with ABV and its member states, once travel restrictions have been lifted).
The NCEA has been active in five out of the six member states, and has active cooperation with three of them (Mali, Benin, Burkina Faso). However, the NCEA has not yet worked together with the ABV before.

Parties concernées

Membres du groupe de travail

Secrétaire technique: Stephen Teeuwen, MSc

Plus de détails

Pays: Benin; Burkina Faso; Ghana; Ivory Coast; Mali; Togo; West Africa

Mise à jour: 08 avr 2021