7152. Country Profiles on Climate Change and Water/Food Security

New and updated country profiles on climate change and water/food security have been developed upon request by the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs. They are intended to provide embassy staff information that can support them in making their programme portfolios more 'climate-smart'.

Détails significatifs

In 2014, the DSU together with NWP, CDI and Kadi Warner (MFA) prepared a number of country profiles on climate change and water/food security, upon request from MFA (see Climate Change Screening of Embassies' Water and Food Programmes). These profiles were used by embassy staff in the respective countries to assess the impact of climate change on their (water and food security) programmes, and to explore what could be done to make their portfolio more 'climate-smart'.

In 2015, these profiles were updated and expanded and other countries added. Moreover, a number of new profiles were drafted. A complete set of 15 profiles was made, covering all partner countries (and one region) in which MFA currently has a portfolio of water and/or food programmes.

The following topics were covered in each 2015 profile:

  • Overall ranking in the ND-GAIN index for climate change;
  • Biophysical vulnerability to climate change;
  • Socio-economic vulnerability to climate change;
  • The national government's climate change strategies and policies;
  • Climate finance;
  • Climate change projects;
  • The climate contribution of the Dutch embassy.

A variety of maps was attached to each profile to provide a quick overview of where 'climate hotspots' can be expected.

Please refer to the 2016 profiles for an overview of the latest adjustments to the profiles and download of these. 

More information can be acquired via climatehelpdesk@minbuza.nl.

Parties concernées

Membres du groupe de travail

Frija Margaretha (Machteld) Galema

Secrétaire technique: Gerlinde Buit

Plus de détails

Pays: Bangladesh; Benin; Burundi; Democratic Republic of Congo; Ethiopia; Ghana; Great Lakes; Indonesia; Kenya; Mali; Mozambique; Rwanda; South Sudan; Uganda; Yemen

Mise à jour: 12 avr 2019